top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureeleanorpipe

Sustainable Sourcing

Second hand sourcing for the wild swans



In this Project, 'The Wild Swans', The white Victorian costume is created entirely from second hand fabric. Sourcing ethically and sustainably is something I strongly believe in as well as being something that is very enjoyable.

To create texture in this costume I wanted to use a variety of of textures so I sourced a variety of different fabric here. So I went to many different charity shops and fabric places that give away or sell their unwanted off cuts.



Here I have broken down where I sourced each section of fabric:

1. Damask Tablecloth. EBAY. I bought so many damask tablecloths for this project it is mildly scary. There is just so much variety on ebay and the textures were so perfect for this.

2. Lace scrap on top of patterned fabric (same as 8). EBAY & PRE-OWNED. The lace came in a scrap bundle I got so cheap on ebay.

3. Damask Tablecloth. EBAY.

4. Sofa fabric offcut. UPHOLSTERY SHOP. This was so nice as the lady in the shop gave this to me for freeeee when I said I was a student! It was weird to work with however as it has a sticky side.

5. Patterned fabric offcut. EBAY. Was more expensive than most of my fabrics but was so worth it.

6. Lace scrap on top of Coutil fabric. EBAY & PRE-OWNED. The lace came in a scrap bundle I got so cheap on ebay and the Coutil is from my corset I made a couple years ago (which is on here if you want to look).

7. Damask Tablecloth. EBAY.

8. Patterned fabric offcut. EBAY. Was more expensive than most of my fabrics but was so worth it.

9. A Bolero Jacket. CHARITY SHOP. This was my favourite find as I used it for 15 and it already curves round the way I wanted.

10. Damask Tablecloth. EBAY​​​​​​​

11. Striped and Checked thin fabric scrap. EBAY. This came in a bundle of fabric I bought on ebay.

12. Crocheted Top and Thin Gauze fabric. CHARITY SHOP & EBAY. The crochet was very aggressive so i put the Gauze on top to soften it.

13. Coutil. PRE-OWNED. Again from a corset I made.

14. Lace Scrap on top of Pleated fabric scrap. EBAY. Lace was bought as an individual scrap and the pleated was in a huge scrap bundle (which was so cheap).

15.A Bolero Jacket. CHARITY SHOP.

16. Satin. PRE-OWNED. This was a scrap I found in the bottom of a box :)


EXTRA Sustainable sourcing story


I used one set of curtains to create two completely different costumes here.

I used the grey/black floral top side of the curtains for this jacket from my Perfume Costume.

Then the inside lining I used for the draped natural dyed skirt on my Time Machine Costume.

COST: £0 :)

(was pre-owned)


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page